Maid in Heaven

Seriously! I am not kidding. I poached our new domestic help when she replaced our previous didi, when she went on a one-month leave. I noticed a positive change in our house on the very first day. The floors were sparkly and the corners spotless. But the husband wisely suggested not to get too excited until I am able to say this after 10 days. And believe you me, my opinion hadn’t changed even after 20. She officially became our help from the beginning of this month and I can’t believe how I settled for un-dusted corners, sticky floors and various shapes of dust around the trolleys, the sofa, the chairs. But there’s no turning back now.

The husband mentioned yesterday that I am normally such a reserved and passive-aggressive person that he couldn’t believe how visibly delighted I looked when she voluntarily dusted the TV. I actually couldn’t contain my teeth inside my mouth and had this silly grin stuck to my face for a good 20 minutes. I mean come on, cleaning something that I hadn’t even noticed had layers of dust from the last 1 month, without even being asked? These days, her visit seems to be the highlight of my day. I don’t know whether it’s a stamp on how boring and mundane by life is or whether a revelation that I do like a clean house after all.

The kind of work she does is so unreal, especially after seeing really stupid and lazy women around, that I find it hard to believe there isn’t a catch. And the numerous episodes from “Savadhan Indian” that my mum narrates has added to the suspicion. What is the catch? Is there an ulterior motive? The husband believes that she is just an ideal employee incapable of doing a shabby job. I remain skeptical.

Honestly, I haven’t seen anyone else who is so good at their job, even at work. There are people who are great, but they have behavioral issues. But none of those here. No temper, no tantrums, so shabbiness…NADA! Just an ever smiling face and a job done beyond perfection. Doesn’t that sound like a dream? It makes me want to reevaluate where I stand when it comes to getting my job done. I don’t want to compare myself to her…the findings won’t be flattering at all.

She is the kind of person who is an exception. Not all can be like that. I think the need to do everything right comes naturally. When I see her work, I realise that she’s not doing anything to please me or demand more money next month. She simply can’t bear the idea of dusty shelves and anything but a spotless floor. I must understand that some people just have a Midas touch. And be happy that we found her. 😀

3 comments

    1. Hehe. She most certainly is. She came quite early yesterday and immediately asked, “dishturb??” Frankly, she had interrupted a very important activity, but she asked it so sweetly that both of us ended up smiling and saying, “no no”. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

