Some Days are Also Good

I realized that I generally use my blog as a sounding board when all I want to do is scream and rant. But some days are so nice, and yet I forget to write about them and put it out in the universe. May be because these instances are very rare. It hardly ever happens that you come across someone totally random, and have no expectations of any kind whatsoever, and what you experience is pure, carefree, human interaction.

Today was one such day. I had given a basil plant to the guy I carpool with yesterday. He said that some lady who sits next to him had asked if she could get one too. So I potted a little cutting for her and sent it along with him. I received such a beautiful e-mail from her sometime back. She thanked me for sending a little pot to a total stranger. She was only expecting a small cutting. So we got to talking, and in the next e-mail exchange, she thanked me profusely again for getting her a potted plant and finally giving her the push to kick-start her kitchen garden. She spoke about how little gestures just make your day

Those were such kind words from a lady I hadn’t even met, that it made my day as well. I hope that more and more people cool down enough in their daily lives to be able to look around and appreciate the little things. That is such a welcome change in the otherwise rat race like corporate life.

I hope I don’t sound like a typical motivational speaker. πŸ˜›

Ciao!

14 comments

  1. You are amazing! Hats off to you :).. I don’t know what I would have done.. But it feels good to know that all is not lost in this world.. πŸ™‚

    Btw, loving your Instagram feed πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Thank you!! πŸ™‚ To be fair, it wasn’t hard at all. I had an empty pot, some leftover potting mix, and a cutting ready to be potted. I’m not sure I’d have shown equal enthusiasm for something that I’m not passionate about.

      I’m sure you’d have done the same. πŸ™‚ Sometimes little things like a simple thank you line can restore your faith in humanity no? Temporarily anyway!

      Thank you! Yours is awesome too, The other day I went through quite a few of your pics while sleeping. Loved the T-shirt painting. Btw, I am following all the celeb chefs now. πŸ˜€

      Like

  2. So that’s what you do. Spread pottings around πŸ™‚ Having been a recipient too, I can second the lady on the feeling nice part πŸ™‚ But, she is an improvement on me. My garden is still a grand total of your one mint plant. Someday, someday.. Share your Instagram feed with me too! I click through to SA’s whenever she tweets her pics.

    Like

      1. I planted slow bolt seeds. Coriander doesn’t take transplant shocks too well so don’t get saplings. Each plant will give around 3-4 harvests. When you cut, leave an inch of stem. If it grows too long and flowers, then it’s the end of it. Just let it flower and get the seeds then.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Gosh, I am feeling so challenged now… I managed to kill 2 plants successfully.
        Yesterday at work a very wise man said .. ” You can always find your kind and thats the beauty of gardening” He thought I was too lazy to water and then I told him that the problem was actually over-watering..

        I am like that typical Indian parent who keeps feeding the child no matter how obese the child is..
        Kha le beta.. types.. and buys chips and chocolates to pamper the child..
        The thought is not comforting at all…

        Like

      3. Hahaha…Obese child analogy is perfect.

        Those are wise words indeed. I think herbs are my kind of gardening. I don’t think I’d be good at more challenging stuff like some delicate exotic flowers. I only grow hardy herbs that generally are generous with you.

        Like

Leave a Reply

